Esthetician Continuing Education Requirements by State (2026)
Esthetician continuing education requirements in all 50 states: which states require CE hours to renew, how many, required topics and the board to check.

For estheticians, med spa owners and practice managers. Updated October 22, 2026 · Prepared by Prospyr. Most states do not require continuing education (CE) for estheticians. In our review of all 50 states and DC, 12 states plus DC require CE hours to renew an esthetician license: Florida (10 hours every two years), Georgia (5), Illinois (10), Iowa (6), Maryland (6, new in 2026), Minnesota (8 every three years), Nebraska (8), Nevada (4), North Carolina (8 every year), Ohio (4), South Carolina (4), Texas (4) and DC (6). Kansas requires an open-book law exam instead of hours, Oregon requires current bloodborne pathogens training, and North Dakota's CE requirement starts with the 2028 renewal cycle. Twenty-seven states require no CE for a standard esthetician license, and we could not confirm the rule in eight, so for those we say "check with the board."
Every state below links to the official source we used: the board's own page, the state statute or the board's administrative rule. Where official sources were silent, conflicted or could not be loaded, we say so rather than guess. CE rules change, often take effect at a later renewal, and differ for advanced or master esthetician licenses and instructors. Confirm with your state board before your renewal date, and with a healthcare attorney for scope questions. This is not legal advice.
Which states require continuing education for estheticians?
| Status | States |
|---|---|
| CE hours required (12 states + DC) | DC, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Texas |
| Other renewal requirement, no CE hours | Kansas (renewal exam), Oregon (bloodborne pathogens training) |
| CE starts later | North Dakota (2028 renewal cycle) |
| No CE for a standard esthetician license (27) | Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming |
| Check with the board (8) | Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Indiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Virginia, West Virginia |
Esthetician CE requirements: all 50 states and DC
| State | CE required? | Hours and required topics | Renewal cycle | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No | CE applies to instructors only | Expires the last day of your birth month in odd-numbered years | Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Alaska | Check with the board | The board's regulations (12 AAC 09) contain no CE provision; we could not load the board's page or statute | Not confirmed | Board of Barbers and Hairdressers |
| Arizona | No CE hours | The renewal page lists no CE. The board says that "in some cases" licensees must complete its online Infection Protection Training and Law Review | Every two years on your birthday | Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board: renewal, training |
| Arkansas | Check with the board | The rule version we could load (2020) requires 8 CE hours for instructors only | Not confirmed | Arkansas Department of Health, Cosmetology Section |
| California | No | "The Board does not require continuing education credits to maintain a license." | Every two years | Board of Barbering and Cosmetology FAQ |
| Colorado | Check with the board | The license maintenance rule requires a renewal fee and documentation and does not mention CE | Not confirmed | Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure |
| Connecticut | No | Estheticians are not on the Department of Public Health's list of professions with CE; renewal is by fee | Every two years | CT DPH CE list, CGS 20-265b |
| Delaware | No | Board FAQ: "Am I required to complete continuing education? Answer : No." | Aesthetician licenses expire March 31 of even years | Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| District of Columbia | Yes | 6 hours: 2 in health, safety and welfare and 4 in general electives, from a board-approved provider; waived at first renewal | Expires April 15 of even-numbered years | DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology |
| Florida (facial specialist) | Yes | 10 hours: 1 HIV/AIDS and communicable diseases, 3 sanitation and sterilization, 0.5 OSHA, 0.5 workers' compensation, 2 state and federal laws and rules, 1 chemical makeup, 1 environmental issues, 1 elective | Every two years (October 31) | Rule 61G5-32.001, Florida Board of Cosmetology |
| Georgia | Yes | 5 hours, including 3 hours in a health and safety course developed or approved by the Board; exemptions include first renewal, 25 or more years licensed and age 65 or older | Every two years | Georgia rules, Rule 240-3-.01 |
| Hawaii | No | Board FAQ: a licensee "does not have to take any continuing education in order to renew the license" | Expires December 31 of odd-numbered years | Hawaii Board of Barbering and Cosmetology FAQ (PDF) |
| Idaho | No | No CE in the licensing statute or board rules | Every two years | Idaho Code 54-5821 |
| Illinois | Yes | 10 hours: 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training and 9 hours in approved subjects; at first renewal, 1 hour must cover domestic violence and sexual assault awareness | Every two years | IDFPR CE fact sheet (PDF) |
| Indiana | Check with the board | The board's licensing page lists renewal fees but does not address CE; we could not load the rules | Not confirmed | Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners |
| Iowa | Yes | 6 hours: at least 4 in your practice discipline and at least 2 in Iowa law and rules and sanitation; none for first renewal | Every two years (April 1 to March 31) | Iowa Admin. Code 481-944 (PDF) |
| Kansas | No CE hours | Renewal requires passing (75% or better) an exam on Kansas law and regulation | Per renewal | Kansas Board of Cosmetology renewal form (PDF) |
| Kentucky | No | Renewal requires the application, ID, fee, photo and employment information; the former CE regulations are repealed | Expires July 31 of even-numbered years | 201 KAR 12:030 |
| Louisiana | No | CE applies to instructors only | Not stated | LAC 46:XXXI |
| Maine | No | Renewal lists a fee and lapse rules only | Annually, October 31 | Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing |
| Maryland | Yes (from January 1, 2026) | 6 hours: 2 in health, safety and welfare and 4 in general electives; 6 hours for each license held | Every two years | Maryland Board of Cosmetologists CE, COMAR 09.22.04.03 |
| Massachusetts | No | Renewal is by application and fee | Every two years | M.G.L. c.112 §87GG |
| Michigan | No | The esthetician licensing guide lists the renewal application, fee and attestation only | Every two years | LARA esthetician licensing guide (PDF) |
| Minnesota | Yes | 8 hours: 1 in state laws and rules, 3 in health, safety and infection control, plus a 4-hour course in product chemistry, machines and instruments, business, ethics and human relations, or techniques | Every three years | Minn. Stat. 155A.271, Minn. R. 2105.0200 |
| Mississippi | Check with the board | The rule we could load requires CE for instructors and master licenses (8 hours every two years) but not standard esthetician licenses | Every two years | Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Missouri | No | Renewal application and fee; CE applies to instructors only | Expires September 30 of odd years | Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners rules (PDF) |
| Montana | No | The esthetician renewal page lists a fee and no CE | Every two years | Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists |
| Nebraska | Yes | 8 hours, 4 of which must be in performing the skills or services of your profession, within the 24 months before expiration | Expires September 30 of even years | Nebraska DHHS |
| Nevada | Yes | 4 hours of instruction in infection control and prevention in a board-approved course | Every 2 or 4 years, on your birthday | NRS 644A.520 |
| New Hampshire | No | Renewal by form and fee; the CE rule (instructors only) is reserved | Not confirmed | N.H. Admin. Rules Bar 400 |
| New Jersey | No | Renewal by application and fee | Every two years | NJ Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling FAQ |
| New Mexico | Check with the board | The CE rule names estheticians and requires proof of attendance at renewal, but states an hour minimum only for instructors; official versions of the rule differ | Every two years | 16.34.9 NMAC, NM Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists |
| New York | No | The renewal steps list no CE | Not stated | NY Department of State |
| North Carolina | Yes | 8 hours of Board-approved CE for each year of the licensing cycle; exempt if you have practiced 10 or more years and are 60 or older | Every year, by October 1 | N.C.G.S. 88B-21 |
| North Dakota | Not yet | Starting with the 2028 renewal cycle, 4 hours of board-approved CE each year (8 for advanced estheticians) | Every year, by December 31 | NDAC 32-05-01 (PDF) |
| Ohio | Yes | 4 hours: 1 in Ohio laws and rules and 3 in safety and infection control, plus human trafficking training | Every two years, by January 15 of odd-numbered years | OAC 4713-21-03 |
| Oklahoma | No | Renewal rules cover term, application and fees only | Two years, ending the last day of your birth month | Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering rules (PDF) |
| Oregon | No CE hours | Attest to current bloodborne pathogens training at renewal | Every two years | Oregon Health Licensing Office rules (PDF) |
| Pennsylvania | No | Renewal by application and fee | Every two years; esthetician licenses expire January 31 of odd years | 49 Pa. Code §7.43 |
| Rhode Island | No | Renewal by application and fee | Expires September 30 every other year | 216-RICR-40-05-4 |
| South Carolina | Yes | 4 contact hours "specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control to include sanitation and disinfection"; first period exempt, with age and tenure exemptions | Every odd year, ending March 10 | SC Board of Cosmetology CE |
| South Dakota | No | Renewal application and fee; CE applies to instructors only | Every year, by your birth date | ARSD 20:42 |
| Tennessee | No | CE (16 hours) is listed for instructors only | Every two years | Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners |
| Texas | Yes | 4 hours every two years: 1 in sanitation, 1 in human trafficking awareness and 2 of your choice; 2 hours (sanitation and human trafficking) if licensed 15 years or more | Every two years | TDLR continuing education |
| Utah | No | The renewal page lists notice, fee and forms only | Expires September 30 of odd years | Utah DOPL |
| Vermont | No | CE applies to instructors only | Two-year periods | Vermont OPR rules (PDF) |
| Virginia | Check with the board | The esthetics regulations (18VAC41-70) have no CE section | Two years from the month of issue | 18VAC41-70, DPOR |
| Washington | No | Renewal lists SSN, fee and changes only | Two years from issuance | WAC 308-20-570 |
| West Virginia | Check with the board | A board rule still listed as active requires 4 hours a year, but the current statute has no CE requirement | Every year, by January 1 | 3CSR11, W. Va. Code 30-27-10 |
| Wisconsin | No | Renewal requires certifying that you reviewed the board's current rule digest, not CE hours | Expires March 31 of odd-numbered years | Wis. Stat. 454.06 |
| Wyoming | No | Renewal by application and fee | Two years, expiring in your birth month | Wyoming Board of Cosmetology |
How many CE hours do estheticians need?
In states that require it, between 4 and 10 hours per renewal cycle. The highest are Florida and Illinois at 10 hours every two years, and North Carolina at 8 hours every year. Nevada, Ohio, South Carolina and Texas require 4 hours per cycle. Most states with a CE requirement specify part of the content, usually sanitation and infection control and state laws and rules, with the rest as electives.
The cycle matters as much as the total. Minnesota counts 8 hours over three years; North Carolina requires 8 hours every year.
Reading about the problem? See how Prospyr solves it in one platform.
Book a DemoRequired topics to watch
- Infection control and sanitation. Required in Florida, Georgia (health and safety), Iowa, Minnesota, Nevada, Ohio, South Carolina and Texas.
- State laws and rules. Florida, Iowa, Minnesota and Ohio require hours on the state's own laws and rules; Kansas tests them at renewal; Wisconsin requires a review of the rule digest.
- Human trafficking. Texas requires 1 hour; Ohio requires a separate human trafficking training.
- Sexual harassment prevention. Illinois requires 1 hour, plus domestic violence and sexual assault awareness at the first renewal.
- HIV/AIDS, OSHA and workers' compensation. Florida requires all three within its 10 hours.
Changes in 2026 and later
- Maryland began requiring 6 hours of CE on January 1, 2026 (Maryland Board of Cosmetologists).
- North Dakota requires 4 hours a year starting with the 2028 renewal cycle (NDAC 32-05-01).
- Conflicting sources. In West Virginia, a board rule still listed as active (4 hours a year) conflicts with the current statute, which has no CE requirement. In New Mexico, two official versions of the CE rule differ, and neither states an hour minimum for estheticians. Ask the board directly.
Advanced and master esthetician licenses
Some states set different rules for advanced licenses. North Dakota's rule requires 8 hours a year for advanced estheticians from 2028, and the Mississippi rule we could load requires 8 hours every two years for master licenses. If you hold an advanced, master or instructor license, read the rule for that license, not the standard esthetician row. Scope of practice is a separate question: CE hours do not expand what an esthetician may do. For one common example, see can estheticians do microneedling.
How to stay on top of esthetician CE
- Check your state's row and the official source before each renewal; rules change.
- Use board-approved providers. Most states that require CE accept only courses from providers the board approves.
- Keep certificates. Save completion certificates for every course in case of an audit.
- Track each license separately. Maryland, for example, requires 6 hours for each license you hold.
- Know your exemptions. Several states waive CE at first renewal or for long-licensed or older licensees.
Where Prospyr fits
Practices with several estheticians and injectors have to keep each provider's license, renewal date and permitted services straight. Prospyr is practice software for med spas, plastic surgery and wellness practices, with online booking, charting, digital intake and consents and multi-location support. It does not track board CE credits for you. If you are planning pay for your team, see the esthetician salary guide.
Frequently asked questions
Do estheticians need continuing education?
In most states, no. As of October 2026, 12 states plus DC require CE hours to renew an esthetician license: DC, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina and Texas. Check your own state's board, since rules change.
How many CE hours do estheticians need in Texas?
Four hours every two years: 1 hour in sanitation, 1 hour in human trafficking awareness and 2 hours of your choice, from TDLR-approved courses. If you have been licensed 15 years or more, you need 2 hours (sanitation and human trafficking).
How many CE hours do estheticians need in Florida?
Florida calls the license "facial specialist." You need 10 hours every two years, covering HIV/AIDS, sanitation and sterilization, OSHA, workers' compensation, Florida laws and rules, chemical makeup, environmental issues and 1 elective hour, under Rule 61G5-32.001.
Does California require CE for estheticians?
No. The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology says it "does not require continuing education credits to maintain a license."
Do online CE courses count?
That depends on the state and the provider. Most states that require CE accept courses only from board-approved providers, and some limit or specify course formats. Check your board's approved-provider list before you enroll.
How long is an esthetician license good for?
Usually two years, but it varies. Maine, North Carolina and South Dakota renew every year, and Minnesota's CE cycle runs three years. See the renewal cycle column in the table above.
Sources
- Alabama: Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Alaska: Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
- Arizona: Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board: renewal
- Arizona: Infection Protection Training and Law Review
- Arkansas: Arkansas Department of Health, Cosmetology Section
- California: Board of Barbering and Cosmetology FAQ
- Colorado: Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
- Connecticut: CT DPH CE list
- Connecticut: CGS 20-265b
- Delaware: Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
- District of Columbia: DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology
- Florida: Rule 61G5-32.001
- Florida: Florida Board of Cosmetology
- Georgia: Georgia rules
- Georgia: Rule 240-3-.01
- Hawaii: Hawaii Board of Barbering and Cosmetology FAQ (PDF)
- Idaho: Idaho Code 54-5821
- Illinois: IDFPR CE fact sheet (PDF)
- Indiana: Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
- Iowa: Iowa Admin. Code 481-944 (PDF)
- Kansas: Kansas Board of Cosmetology renewal form (PDF)
- Kentucky: 201 KAR 12:030
- Louisiana: LAC 46:XXXI
- Maine: Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing
- Maryland: Maryland Board of Cosmetologists CE
- Maryland: COMAR 09.22.04.03
- Massachusetts: M.G.L. c.112 §87GG
- Michigan: LARA esthetician licensing guide (PDF)
- Minnesota: Minn. Stat. 155A.271
- Minnesota: Minn. R. 2105.0200
- Mississippi: Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Missouri: Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners rules (PDF)
- Montana: Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
- Nebraska: Nebraska DHHS
- Nevada: NRS 644A.520
- New Hampshire: N.H. Admin. Rules Bar 400
- New Jersey: NJ Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling FAQ
- New Mexico: 16.34.9 NMAC
- New Mexico: NM Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
- New York: NY Department of State
- North Carolina: N.C.G.S. 88B-21
- North Dakota: NDAC 32-05-01 (PDF)
- Ohio: OAC 4713-21-03
- Oklahoma: Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering rules (PDF)
- Oregon: Oregon Health Licensing Office rules (PDF)
- Pennsylvania: 49 Pa. Code §7.43
- Rhode Island: 216-RICR-40-05-4
- South Carolina: SC Board of Cosmetology CE
- South Dakota: ARSD 20:42
- Tennessee: Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
- Texas: TDLR continuing education
- Utah: Utah DOPL
- Vermont: Vermont OPR rules (PDF)
- Virginia: 18VAC41-70
- Virginia: DPOR
- Washington: WAC 308-20-570
- West Virginia: 3CSR11
- West Virginia: W. Va. Code 30-27-10
- Wisconsin: Wis. Stat. 454.06
- Wyoming: Wyoming Board of Cosmetology
Free PDF guide + worksheets
Build your state opening file.
Get the state highlights, linked official sources, service-by-service licensing worksheet, ownership questions and opening checklist in one printable guide.
- ✓ State-specific decisions and next steps
- ✓ Credential and supervision worksheet
- ✓ A place to track approvals, owners and renewals