Free clinical reference tool

Microneedling Depth Chart by Facial Area

A microneedling depth chart shows how thick the epidermis and dermis are in each area, so you can see which layer a needle length reaches. Published studies measure the epidermis at roughly 0.03 to 0.4 mm depending on method, and the dermis at about 0.8 to 2.9 mm depending on area. Estheticians can microneedle in 11 states, within limits. This page cites every number.

Prepared by Prospyr · Reviewed October 3, 2026 · Free, no sign-up, runs in your browser

Published numbers only. Choose an area and a needle length to see where it falls in the measured skin.

Skin thickness and published depth ranges by area

Area
0.5 mm
Depth from the skin surface, in mm (scale 0 to 3.5).
  • Epidermis
  • Dermis
  • Below the dermis (subcutis)
  • Needle length

Cheeks (malar): Jeong 2023, Malar

Epidermis 0.327 mm and dermis 1.16 mm (total 1.487 mm). A 0.5 mm needle length passes the epidermis (0.327 mm) and reaches 0.173 mm into the dermis (1.16 mm thick) in this measurement.

In vivo ultrasound, 99 adults, mean of each site. Averages vary widely between people and between studies.

A reference tool. Needle length is not the same as the depth a device reaches: one review notes that “needle length has not been shown to increase depth” and that the literature “does not recommend a specific needle length” (Shauly 2023). Treatment depth is a decision for the treating provider.

Published ranges for cheeks (malar)

  • "1.0 mm for the malar region" (radiofrequency microneedling review). Shauly 2023

Labeled as the papers state them. These are published ranges, not a recommended depth for any patient. Epidermis figures differ by method: biopsy histology reports roughly 0.03 to 0.06 mm (Chopra 2015), 50 MHz ultrasound about 0.10 to 0.12 mm, and in vivo facial ultrasound about 0.33 to 0.40 mm (Jeong 2023). Pick the measurement above and read the bar with that in mind.

All areas at a glance

Published epidermis and dermis thickness, and published depth ranges, by area
AreaEpidermis (mm)Dermis (mm)Published range as reported
Forehead0.3341.019"A depth of at least 1.5 mm should be used for the forehead and temporal skin". (Shauly 2023)
Periorbital (eyelid)0.0630.759Devices with needle lengths of 0.5 to 0.75 mm are "used for thin-skinned areas such as the periorbital and perioral regions." (Singh & Yadav 2016)Smaller drums with needles of approximately 0.5 mm made microneedling of periocular skin "amenable." (Singh & Yadav 2016)
Cheeks (malar)0.3271.16"1.0 mm for the malar region". (Shauly 2023)
Nose (side wall)0.0631.969"2.0 mm (maximum depth for radiofrequency microneedling) for the nasal side walls." (Shauly 2023)
Upper lip / perioral0.3441.299"0.5 mm for the perioral skin". (Shauly 2023)Needle lengths of 0.5 to 0.75 mm are "used for thin-skinned areas such as the periorbital and perioral regions." (Singh & Yadav 2016)
Chin0.4021.273None in sources used
NeckNot reportedNot reported"1.5 mm for the neck". (Shauly 2023)
Chest / décolleté0.1041.956None in sources used
Abdomen0.112.392None in sources used
Back0.1182.917None in sources used
Forearm0.1181.614None in sources used
Thigh0.1171.772None in sources used
ScalpNot reportedNot reportedThe C-8HE dermaroller, a cosmetic type "for hair-bearing surfaces, scalp," has a needle length of 0.2 mm. (Singh & Yadav 2016)

Thickness shown is the first measurement listed per area (Jeong 2023, Chinese-adult VHFUS 2025 or Chopra 2015); sites and methods differ, so compare with care. Sources are listed at the bottom of the page.

Who can perform microneedling in your state?

Can estheticians perform microneedling in Texas?

No

A rule, board statement, guidance chart or enforcement action places it outside esthetician scope.

Not on a TDLR esthetician or cosmetology license. TDLR assigns microneedling to the Texas Medical Board, and TDLR rules prohibit any procedure that contacts or penetrates the dermis. A physician may delegate nonsurgical medical cosmetic procedures to trained individuals under 22 TAC Chapter 169 with a written protocol and a physician, PA or APRN onsite or immediately available.

Source: TDLR: Medspas at a Glance (TDLR table 2026; 16 TAC 83.112(c) effective 2023; 22 TAC 169 effective Jan 2025). Checked September 30, 2026.

Rules change and scope depends on the device, depth and purpose. This is general information, not legal advice; confirm with your state board and healthcare counsel. Read the full 50-state guide.

Reference only.This chart quotes published anatomy and published ranges. It does not recommend a needle length, depth or device setting for any patient. Treatment decisions belong to the treating provider, within state law and the device’s FDA labeling.

How to read the microneedling depth chart

Pick an area, then move the needle length slider from 0.25 to 3.0 mm. The bar is a cross-section drawn to scale from the skin surface. The dark segment is the epidermis, the light segment is the dermis, and the hatched area is tissue below the dermis.

The numbers come from published measurements, mostly in vivo ultrasound studies. Each result names its study. Averages hide large person-to-person spread: in the facial ultrasound study, the standard deviation of dermal thickness at the cheek was about half the mean.

Worked example. For the cheek (malar site) the facial ultrasound study reports an epidermis of 0.327 mm and a dermis of 1.160 mm. A 1.0 mm needle length passes the epidermis and reaches 0.673 mm into a 1.160 mm dermis. A 0.25 mm length stays inside the 0.327 mm epidermis in that same measurement.

Needle length is not the same as the depth a device reaches. Skin stretches, devices vary, and pressure changes penetration. One review notes that needle length has not been shown to increase depth.

Microneedling depth guide: what published reviews report

Reviews do not agree on one depth per area, and most describe devices, not rules. For the face, a 2023 radiofrequency microneedling review (Shauly et al.) reports depths of at least 1.5 mm for the forehead and temple, 1.0 mm for the malar region, 0.5 mm for the perioral skin and 1.5 mm for the neck. A 2016 review (Singh and Yadav) reports needle lengths of 0.5 to 0.75 mm for thin-skinned periorbital and perioral areas.

These are reported ranges from the literature. They are not a recommended depth for a patient, and they come from different devices, including radiofrequency devices. For areas with no published range, the chart says so.

The deepest skin sits on the trunk. In a 74-adult ultrasound study, dermal thickness averaged about 2.4 mm at the abdomen and 2.9 mm on the back, against 1.0 to 1.3 mm at most facial sites measured in a separate study. Different methods and populations explain part of that gap, so compare within a study, not across them.

What the FDA says about microneedling devices

The FDA classifies microneedling devices for aesthetic use as Class II devices under 21 CFR 878.4430. Its November 2020 guidance, Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products, says it “considers needle penetration beyond the stratum corneum as a result of the design or technology of a microneedling product as evidence that it may be ‘intended to affect the structure or any function of the body’,” which makes the product a device.

The FDA’s consumer page says it has authorized microneedling devices to improve the appearance of facial acne scars, facial wrinkles and abdominal scars in patients aged 22 or older, and that it may not have reviewed other body locations. It also says microneedling may be considered a medical procedure when it meets the definition of a medical device.

Can estheticians do microneedling?

It depends on the state. In our review of all 50 states, 11 allow estheticians to microneedle within limits, 5 allow it only with an advanced license or medical supervision, 20 say it is outside esthetician scope and 14 have no official statement that names it. The state selector above shows the answer and official source for each state.

A state that sets a depth limit applies it to one license type. A limit in one state says nothing about another, and an FDA-cleared device does not make a procedure part of an esthetician’s license. Read the full state-by-state guide, or see the med spa licensing guides.

Practices that offer microneedling can record the device, needle depth used and consent for every visit in aesthetic EMR charting.

Frequently asked questions

What is a microneedling depth chart?

A microneedling depth chart lists how thick the epidermis and dermis are in each area, and sometimes the needle depths reported in the literature for that area. This one cites the study for every number. It is a reference, not a treatment guide.

How deep should microneedling go?

This page cannot say how deep microneedling should go for any person, because that decision belongs to the treating provider. Published reviews report ranges that differ by area and device, for example 0.5 mm for perioral skin and at least 1.5 mm for the forehead in one radiofrequency microneedling review. Use the chart to see those reported ranges next to measured skin thickness.

What is the microneedling needle depth for the face?

Published facial ranges vary by area. One 2023 review reports at least 1.5 mm for the forehead and temple, 1.0 mm for the malar region, 0.5 mm for perioral skin and 1.5 mm for the neck, and a 2016 review reports 0.5 to 0.75 mm lengths for periorbital and perioral skin. Each is a reported range, not a recommendation.

Can estheticians do microneedling?

In 11 states, yes, within limits such as a maximum needle depth or the epidermis only. Five more allow it only with an advanced license or medical supervision, 20 say it is outside esthetician scope, and 14 have no official guidance that names it. Pick your state above for the answer and its source.

Is microneedling regulated by the FDA?

Yes. Microneedling devices for aesthetic use are Class II medical devices under 21 CFR 878.4430. FDA guidance treats needle penetration beyond the stratum corneum as evidence that a product is intended to affect the body's structure or function, which makes it a device.

How thick is the epidermis and dermis of facial skin?

It depends on the site and the measurement method. A 99-adult facial ultrasound study reports a dermis of about 0.98 mm at the lateral forehead up to 1.30 mm at the mouth corner, while a cadaver biopsy study found the thinnest dermis at the upper medial eyelid (0.759 mm) and the thickest at the lower nasal side wall (1.969 mm). Epidermis measures about 0.03 to 0.06 mm by histology and several times more by ultrasound.

Does a longer needle always go deeper?

No. One review states that needle length has not been shown to increase depth, and that the literature does not recommend a specific needle length, only a device with adjustable insertion depth. The slider shows where a length falls in measured skin, not how far a device will actually penetrate.

Sources and scope

Reference only. This page quotes published anatomy and published ranges; it does not recommend a needle length, depth or device setting for any patient, and it is not legal advice. Treatment decisions belong to the treating provider, within state law and the device's FDA labeling.

Report a correction

Run your practice on one system